Pinoy math, science medalists feted with Student Excellence Award

Students display their Student Excellence Award medals at the ceremony together with Flordelita Male of DepEd-National Capital Region, former senator Alan Peter Cayetano and MTG president Dr. Isidro Aguilar. (Photo by MTG)

MANILA, March 16 — More than 500 elementary and high school students who won medals for the Philippines in international math, science and English contests in 2018 were recognized at a ceremony.

The first Student Excellence Award, bestowed at the “A Toast to Students’ Excellence” ceremony at Samsung Hall of SM Aura in Taguig, was given by the the Department of Education in cooperation with the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG) and SM Supermalls to honor young Filipinos who brought honor to the country.

Former senator and foreign affairs secretary Alan Peter Cayetano was the guest of honor along with Dr. Jocelyn Andaya, Director IV of the DepEd Bureau of Curriculum Development; Flordelita Male of DepEd-National Capital Region; MTG president Dr. Isidro Aguilar; MTG co-founder Dr. Simon Chua; and MTG vice president Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz Jr.

“To receive these awards with bare hands is easy but how to acquire one needs a lot of patience and perseverance. I am really grateful to the MTG, from the officials from our center in Calamba to the office in Zamboanga, who have helped me realize this and shape me into what I am today,” said student medalist John Florence Diazon of Calamba Elem. School who spoke at the event.

Student awardee Wally Santos of the Senator Renato “Companero” Cayetano Memorial Science & Technology High School said, “If you want to achieve something, be disciplined, dream big.”

In the National Capital Region, students who were awarded came from the Ateneo de Manila Grade School, Ateneo de Manila Junior HS, Bangkal Elem. School Main, British School Manila, Caloocan National Science & Technology HS, Centro Montessori Internationale, Chiang Kai Shek College, Child Development and Guidance Center, Colegio de San Juan de Letran, Colegio de Santa Ana, Colegio San Agustin-Makati, Comembo Elem. School, De La Salle Santiago Zobel School, De La Salle University Integrated School Senior HS, East Rembo Elem. School, Espiritu Santo Parochial School Manila, Falcon School, Far Eastern University Senior HS, Grace Christian College, Holy Rosary Academy of Las Pinas, Hope Christian HS, Immaculate Conception Academy Greenhills, Immaculate Heart of Mary College Paranaque, Integrated Montessori Center Guadalupe and Itaas Elem. School.

Also recognized were students from Jean-Baptiste of Reims College, Jubilee Christian Academy, Kapitan Eddie Reyes Integrated School, Kapitan Jose Cardones Memorial Elementary School, Keys School Manila, La Immaculada Concepcion School, La Salle Greenhills, Las Pinas City National Science HS, Lourdes School of Quezon City, Makati Science HS, Maria Montessori Holy Christian School, MGC New Life Christian Academy, Miriam College Quezon City, MSA Whiz Kids Academy, Notre Dame of Greater Manila, Pace Academy, PAREF Woodrose, Pasig Catholic College, Pembo Elementary School, Philippine Cultural College Caloocan, Philippine Cultural College-Main, Philippine Academy of Sakya, Philippine Institute of Quezon City, Philippine Science HS-Main, Project 6 Elem. School Special Science Class, Quezon City Christian Academy, Quezon City Science HS, Ricardo P. Cruz Elem. School and Rizal Elem. School.

Other NCR awardees came from Saint Mary’s Academy Pasay, San Antonio National HS, San Antonio Village Elem. School, San Beda College Alabang, San Juan Elem. School, School of St. Anthony, Senator Renato “Companero” Cayetano Memorial Science & Technology HS, Signal Village National HS, Silangan Elem. School, South Cembo Elem. School, Southernside Montessori Muntinlupa, Southville International Schools and Colleges, St. Jude Catholic School, St. Mary’s Academy Pasay, St. Paul College of Paranaque, St. Paul College Pasig, St. Paul University Quezon City, St. Pedro Poveda College, St. Stephen’s HS, St. Theresa’s College Quezon City, Taguig Integrated School, Taguig Science HS, Taguig Science HS-San Miguel, The Learning Tree Child Growth Center, University of Perpetual Help System Dalta Las Pinas, University of Santo Tomas Junior HS-Manila, University of the Philippines Integrated School, UNO HS, Upper Bicutan Elem. School, Upper Bicutan National HS, Valenzuela City School of Mathematics & Science, Vel Maris School, Victory Christian International School, West Rembo Elem. School and Xavier School.

In the areas of Bulacan, Cavite and Antipolo, the student awardees were from Binuangan Elem. School, Dr. Yanga’s Colleges, Jesus Is Lord Colleges Foundation, Mariano Ponce National HS, Marymount Professional Colleges, Parada National HS, Saint Mary’s College of Meycauayan, Salambao Elem. School, Santa Maria National HS, Dasmarinas II Central School, De La Salle Medical & Health Sciences Institute, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas Junior HS, Divine Light Academy Molino, Elizabeth Seton School-South, Imus National HS, Imus Pilot Elem. School, International British Academy, Malagasang 2 Elem. School, Our Lady of the Holy Rosary School-Gen. Trias, Sabang Elem. School, St. Francis of Assisi College System-Molino, St. Paul College-Island Park, SV Montessori, The Palmridge School, University of Perpetual Help-Molino, Vel Maris School and La Salle College Antipolo.

Students from Lucena and Laguna areas who received awards came from Colegio San Agustin-Binan, De La Salle University-Laguna, De La Salle University Integrated School Canlubang, Emmanuel Christian School, Jose Rizal Memorial School, Laguna College, Montessori House of Learning, Morning Star Montessori School-Calamba, San Pablo City Science HS, St. Cruz Elem. School, Sta. Rosa Elem. School Central III, Sta. Rosa Science & Technology HS, Xavier School-Nuvali and International School for Better Beginnings-Lucena.

“We congratulate these students for bringing honor to our country and we hope that these awards will inspire them even more. We thank Education Secretary Leonor Briones and the whole DepEd, and SM Supermalls for their overwhelming support and partnership in establishing the Student Excellence Award,” said MTG head Aguilar, adding that winners in other regions will be awarded as well.

Stay updated with news and information from the Mathematics Trainers’ Guild, Philippines by visiting their website at

Balikbayan Media Center
Balikbayan Media Center

Balikbayan Magazine's Media Center serves an audience in 60 countries and 101 cities throughout the World to ignite, drive, and fuel the economic development, progression, and modernisation of the Philippines. Our Media Center curates only the most critical, vital, useful, entertaining, and sometimes amusing information released from both the public and private sector. Our editorial team strongly believes that a well-rounded and well-informed society is a thriving society.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Spotlighting the growth, development, and progression of the Philippines since 2009. Balikbayan Magazine is a publication of the Asian Journal Media Group.