Call for nominations for the Cultural Center of the Philippines 13 Artists Awards 2021

The Cultural Center of the Philippines, through its Visual Arts and Museum Division is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Thirteen Artists Awards.

Since its first presentation 50 years ago, the THIRTEEN ARTISTS AWARDS (TAA) started as a curatorial project of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Museum under the directorship of its first curator Roberto Chabet.  The TAA was created in order to showcase the works of artists who grasped to “restructure, restrengthen and renew artmaking and art thinking…that lend viability to Philippine art”.  It was Raymundo Albano, the next Director of the CCP Museum and Non-theater Operations who transformed the 13 Artists into the awards program that it is today.  The 13 Artists exhibition was mounted every two years from 1970 to 1980, and again in 1988, 1990, 1992 and 1994.  It was revived in 2000, and changed to a triennial format, which it follows until today.

Nominated artists must possess the following eligibility requirements:

• Body of work characterized by artistic integrity, innovativeness, and forcefulness of ideas

• Responsiveness to contemporary realities

• Evidence of sustained artistic activity demonstrated by a track record of individual exhibitions and group shows for at least the past three years

• Engagement with contemporary visual art forms including, but not limited to, painting, sculpture, new media, installation, performance art, photography, printmaking and digital imaging

• Filipino citizenship

• Less than 40 years old in the year of conferment or must be born 1982 onwards

Art councils, art groups, heads/deans of art schools, museum and gallery curators and directors, art critics and past Thirteen Artists Awardees may nominate a maximum of three (3) artists each.

The CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division (VAMD) under the Production and Exhibition Department and the Office of the Artistic Director will convene a Selection Committee composed of four (4) past awardees and the head of the CCP VAMD. The decision of the Selection Committee is final.

The prizes of a Thirteen Artists Awardee include a cash grant to defray the cost of materials for producing new work for a group exhibition at the CCP Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery), which will open with the formal awarding ceremonies; A trophy designed by a 13 Artists Awardee and specially commissioned for the 2021 Thirteen Artists Awards as well as Participation in CCP’s public programs of discussions, lectures, workshops and other activities.

Deadline for nominations is on March 1, 2021, Monday at 11:59pm.

Download the nomination form from and send completed nomination forms to: [email protected].

Hardcopy nomination forms will not be accepted.

For inquiries, contact the CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division, Production and Exhibition Department at tel. (632) 8832-1125 loc. 1504/1505, mobile phone (0917-6033809), email ([email protected]) or visit, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @ccpvamd.

Balikbayan Media Center

Balikbayan Magazine's Media Center serves an audience in 60 countries and 101 cities throughout the World to ignite, drive, and fuel the economic development, progression, and modernisation of the Philippines. Our Media Center curates only the most critical, vital, useful, entertaining, and sometimes amusing information released from both the public and private sector. Our editorial team strongly believes that a well-rounded and well-informed society is a thriving society.

Spotlighting the growth, development, and progression of the Philippines since 2009. Balikbayan Magazine is a publication of the Asian Journal Media Group.

Copyright © 2009-2023 Asian Journal Media Group.
All Rights Reserved.